Sharon Van Etten shares details of new album ‘We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong’

Sharon Van Etten has today (April 6) shared details of her sixth studio album, ‘We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong’.

READ MORE: Sharon Van Etten live in Los Angeles: ten ‘Epic’ years and a timely celebration of resilience

The record will arrive on May 6 via Jagjaguwar and is set to explore “the questions we ask ourselves when we think the world – or at least, our world – might be ending”, according to a statement.

It continued: “Have we loved as well as we could? Did we try hard enough? How do we protect the things most precious to us from destructive forces beyond our control? And how do we salvage something worthwhile when it seems all is lost?”

You can watch the trailer for the new album below:

Unlike Van Etten’s previous albums, there will be no single releases leading up to the album’s arrival.

A statement confirmed that recently released singes ‘Porta‘ and ‘Used To It‘ will not appear on this album.

Speaking about the album, Van Etten said: “I wanted to approach this release differently, to engage my fans in an intentional way, in an effort to present the album as a whole body of work.

“These ten songs are designed to be listened to in order, at once, so that a much larger story of hope, loss, longing and resilience can be told.”

Speaking about the album’s cover, Van Etten added: “I wanted to convey that in an image with me walking away from it all…not necessarily brave, not necessarily sad, not necessarily happy.”

‘We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong’ tracklist:
01. ‘Darkness Fades’
02. ‘Home to Me’
03. ‘I’ll Try’
04. ‘Anything’
05. ‘Born’
06. ‘Headspace’
07. ‘Come Back’
08. ‘Darkish’
09. ‘Mistakes’
10. ‘Far Away’

Van Etten will head out on a UK and European tour this summer. You can see her upcoming tour dates below and find tickets here.

31 – Aula Magna, Lisbon, Portgual

02 – Primavera Sound, Barcelona, Spain
05 – Muffathalle, Munich, Germany
06 – Openluchttheater Rivierenhof, Antwerp, Belgium
07 – Markthalle, Hamburg, Germany
09 – Loaded, Oslo, Norway
10 – Rosendal, Djurgarden, Stockholm, Sweden
11 – Syd For Solen, Copenhagen, Denmark
13 – Metropol, Berlin, Germany
14 – TivoliVredenberg Grote Zaal, Utrecht, Netherlands
15 – La Cigale, Paris, France
17 – O2 Brixton Academy, London
18 – O2 Institute, Birmingham
19 – O2 Academy, Leeds
21 – Barrowland, Glasgow
22 – Vicar Street, Dublin

The post Sharon Van Etten shares details of new album ‘We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong’ appeared first on NME.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Generated by Feedzy